Second Degree Assault in Maryland
In Maryland, second degree assault includes three types: intent to frighten, attempted battery, and battery. Intent to frighten must be proven beyond a reasonable doubt by proving that the defendant had both the intent and the ability to place the victim in fear of physical harm or offensive contact, and that the victim reasonably feared that harm. To prove attempted battery, prosecution must prove that the defendant both intended to and attempted to cause the victim physical harm or offensive contact. To prove battery, prosecution must prove that the defendant did cause the victim physical harm or offensive contact and that the contact was not accidental. In all three types, if self-defense is claimed, then it must be proven that the defendant had no legal justification for the assault. A second degree assault conviction carries up to 10 years in prison and/or a maximum fine of $2500. If you are facing assault charges in Maryland, call Azari Law at 301.362.3300 to discuss your defense.