Violation of Protective Order in Maryland
Accidentally violating the terms of a protective order can be easy since the terms are often extremely broad. Violating the terms of a protective order can result in contempt of court charges in Maryland when the violation is minor. If a defendant knowingly violates the protective order, it can be considered contempt of court in addition to a criminal act. Whether a defendant will be arrested for violating the protective order depends on police involvement in the matter – if the police are involved and either witness or have probable cause of the violation having occurred, they may arrest the defendant. Violating a protective order is a misdemeanor and carries maximums of 90 days in prison and/or $1000 fine for the first offense, and 1 year and/or $2500 fine for subsequent offenses. If you have been served with a protective order, protect yourself and call 301.362.3300 to speak with a defense attorney at Azari Law today.