DUI per se in Maryland
In Maryland, DUI per se (Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol per se) is a charge that involves simply being the driver of a vehicle, consenting to a BAC measurement, and measuring above 0.08. Impairment is not a factor in a DUI per se charge. If the officer makes the traffic stop resulting in a DUI per se charge properly, little to no other evidence is required in order for the prosecutor to prove the case. The maximum penalty for a first-time DUI per se conviction is up to one year and/or $1000 fine. It also carries an administrative penalty of minimum 45 days license suspension. Subsequent convictions carry additional penalties. If you have been charged with DUI per se, call Azari Law at 301.362.3300 for representation you can trust.