DWI in Maryland
Driving While Impaired (DWI) is a less serious charge than Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol (DUI), and results from a breath test measurement of between 0.07 and 0.08. It can also result from some degree of impairment in a driver’s coordination, as observed by an officer during field sobriety tests. The maximum penalties are 60 days in prison and/or $500 fine for the first offense, 1 year and/or $500 for the second offense, and 3 years and/or $3000 for the third and subsequent offenses. Administrative consequences entail MVA assessment of 8 points against the driver and suspension of the driver’s license. If you have been charged with DUI in Maryland, call Azari Law at 301.362.3300 immediately to discuss your case.